Thursday, February 7, 2013

Some Snake Man Sketches

Forgot to post these here last night >_<



I think I promised here a long time ago I would make better Snake Man drawings, so uh, here they are. He IS my favorite robot master after all...
...but I'm a big reptile fan in general, so yeah...

He's a bit tricky to draw so I spent most of yesterday drawing him - or his head at least.
Was also experimenting with the Pencil tool in Photoshop, kinda fun to work with for me...
...or I might just be weird, since I also like using ballpoint pens when drawing on paper. >_>;

Right corner felt empty so I doodled in my cartoony-styled Snake Man, who looks too cute for his own good since in my headcanon he's essentially a huge troll. xD

None of these guys look consistent haha, but I like to experiment and I'll be damned if I fall into the Style Trap.

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Lurking Around

So recently I've been hanging around deviantArt and Tumblr, browsing through artwork and funny posts for inspiration and such - unfortunately I'm rather shy and haven't really been communicating with people on these websites very much. I've only recently made accounts on those websites and started favoriting/liking things (many refer to this internet shyness as "Lurking")

I've got some ideas written down on things I can draw, mostly silly comics and jokes that I hope others will find funny as well. In that light, I may as well make the most of my natural awkwardness, and made sort of a persona character for myself:



A person in a box.
Well, I never said I was an expert in making original characters. 

At least it's simple and easy enough to draw. Here's some sketches - I have far to much fun drawing silly expressions and poses. =)


I might make a little flash animation of that sequence in the top left someday, just for fun.

Filler Dragon is there because that's what I draw when I can't think of anything else.

Everything here was drawn in Flash, by the way.

Cheers!

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Bleh update + Cactus Girl + Old project

Jee whiz a whole new year and a whole lotta NOTHING from me I am so sorry. D=

2012 hasn't been to kind to my family and I, the last couple months were probly the worst BUT this is not the place to talk about that aheheheh. 
Basically, family issues, holidays and sickness have been keeping me busy and draining my self-motivation. 
I have been drawing but most of it is on paper and we don't have a scanner so meh. =(

I DO HAVE THIS THOUGH, YAY
While I was kinda sick with a headcold I revisited an original character I made for a hand-drawn animated film back in college. (I also drew some ugly anime eyes haha)

I'm bad with names so I just call her Cactus Girl. She's a sweet, happy-go-lucky little gal, also very affectionate, but no one likes hugging her 'cause she's a cactus. (I'm terrible ahaha xD)

She was originally one of a classroom of monster children in a monster elementary school. the plot revolved around a new teacher who comes in and tries to teach them magic but since they're monster kids TERRIBLE AND HILAROUS THINGS HAPPEN. At one point Cactus Girl was set on fire. XD

I felt obligated to make it up to her by redesigning her and making her nice and pretty. =3
The pic on the bottom with the check mark is the one I liked the most/spent most effort on so I blew it up. I may use her in an animation someday so I'm settling on this design, however I might remove her floaty eyebrows since they get kinda lost between her eyelashes, bows, thorns and pigtails. Basically, too many lines up there.

The film project itself was kind of a scatterbrained disaster and the final movie file was never shared so I don't have much to show for my hard work (character designs, storyboards, animation, inking and coloring) T_T 
All I got is my character designs, storyboards for a deleted sequence, and some ugly pencil tests.
Here's some monster kid concepts where Cactus Girl originated:
Wow she looked kinda fat and plain back then haha. Only her and the chameleon made it in the film, but the chameleon was redesigned by somebody else into something quite different. (he became a cute fat little chameleon haha)

I designed a little centaur kid too, I might revisit him as well since he's pretty cute =3 I based him more off a donkey since donkeys are kinda cute hehe. He was the shy cowardly kid who eventually got transformed into a pinata (the square-ish versions of him on the right side) and beaten up by the other kids for candy. Like I said, terrible and hilarious.


Ok wow this got kinda long so that's it for now, Cheers.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Bad doodle + update

This is me trying to use Tumblr. x_x


So many weird custom layouts - jeeze, it's like MySpace all over again.

Bad drawing is bad - but better than nothing. 
The Deer animation has been coming along pretty slowly - I was trying to make a really cool forest background for it, but it just wasn't working out, and I became so discouraged that I started putting it off. Eventually I showed it to a family member who said it didn't look right, and after more messing around I finally realized - wait a minute, I'm terrible at painting backgrounds, especially in Flash! So I gave up and went back to simple colors. So more progress coming on that thing.

I think I'll try to make more silly drawings like this one to bust through my art block.

Cheers!